Peanut Butter and Sour Cherry Cookies

Hello,

how is your Monday so far? I took a sick day today because I totally couldn’t sleep last night maybe because yesterday at 12AM I had way too many cookies before bed, when I said many I mean really MANY!! :)  So back to what I was saying, I didn’t sleep at all last night, that is so weird and frustrating, so today morning I took a day off from work!

For breakfast I had grapes and orange juice:

I had more, this is a picture from yesterday’s small picnic in our yard. I also had some tea! I was not hungry at all for breakfast, because like I said I had a hundred cookies before bed! :)

And now, as I promised yesterday, here is the recipe for the cookies that I did yesterday! My grandma makes them all the time for me and they are delicious, actually they turned out very good, soft and yummy!:)

PEANUT BUTTER AND SOUR CHERRY COOKIES:

You need:

- 2 cups (12 oz per cup) of all purpose flour

- 2 sticks of organic butter room temperature

- 100g Peanut Butter room temperature

- 200g sour cream room temperature

- 2 more cups (12 oz per cup) of all purpose flour

In a bowl combine the first 2 ingredients, the 2 cups of flour with the butter:

Add Peanut Butter and mix well, after that combine with the sour cream:

I don’t own a food processor so everything was done by hand, make sure you mix well the sour cream into the dough, the result should be a very fluffy and moist dough:

Now, little by little begin adding into the mix the remaining 2 cups of flour until the dough will have a moist-firm texture, easy to roll and work with and non sticky:

Cover with a towel and let it sit for 2 hours at room temperature.

After 2 hours divide the dough into balls, size as your fist. Take one ball and roll into a sheet:

Cut in small squares:

 

3 or 4 cherries per square and roll into a small croissant:

 

Or if you are out of cherries and maybe want only peanut butter cookies:

Bake for 30-40 min at 400F until golden, don’t burn :)

Let them cool, because we have to cover them in powdered sugar, and if the cookies will be warm the sugar will melt.

Now Enjoy!! A nice paring will be a glass of tea or maybe a caramel cappuccino! :)

Do you love to make home-made cookies? I do! The process makes me feel so good, such a harmony in the house persists, the smell of freshly baked cookies is just so comfortable and peaceful!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    May 17, 2010 @ 20:46:17

    oh my gosh these look so good…..i love the idea of the sour cherries! are you kidding me your parents bottle their own wine? how wonderful….i am gonna add you to my blogroll-love your blog!

    Reply

  2. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen)
    May 17, 2010 @ 21:23:19

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I am definitely going to enjoy reading yours! Those cookies look so good. No wonder you couldn’t stay away from them. I love making home made cookies. Baking is so good for me to relax and unwind!

    Reply

  3. actorsdiet
    May 18, 2010 @ 00:03:49

    wow you are quite the baker! i don’t bake very often but if i do have the time/space i do enjoy it.

    Reply

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl
    May 18, 2010 @ 02:25:05

    Wow!! These look amazing!! I’m not very good at baking…you’ve made it look so simple that I might have to try these!

    Reply

  5. runnerforever
    May 18, 2010 @ 04:04:53

    Wow, those look good. Seem more like pastries than cookies, very cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

