Vegan Slow Cook Veggie Deliciousness

Hello,

How is your weekend so far? Mine is good, after trying to play tennis with my fiance, and running some errands, I decided to prepare a dish that my grandma and mom used to make for me when I was a kid. I was waiting for summer vacation, to go to my grandparents and pick all the ingredients from their garden and prepare this deliciousness. So here is what you need, for 4 servings, note all the ingredients have to be chopped in big chunks:

1.   100 ml olive oil or canola oil

2.   4 carrots

3.   1 green bell pepper

4.   1 eggplant

5.   10 mushrooms

6.   1 yellow squash

7.   1 tomato

8.   1 can of natural diced tomatoes

9.   1 tbsp of natural tomato paste

So, in a deep pot combine the oil and onions, when the onions begin to have a golden brown color add all the others ingredients, the diced tomatoes, 1 tbsp of tomato paste, salt and pepper. Mix well. Cover the pot! Let cook on slow fire for 2 hours mixing occasionally.

 

And here is my plate, I had the Veggie Deliciousness over Spring Mixed Greens with Italian Whole Wheat Bread:

What is great about this dish is that you can please the entire family playing with the recipe, you can add chicken or pork, beef, if you eat meat. Also you can fry or bake some fish and serve this as a side with some pieces of lemon and parsley on the top. It makes great leftovers, second day it is even more delicious and it freezes perfectly!

For dessert I had a few strawberries and some grapes:

While my fiance enjoyed a bowl of fresh California strawberries with some sour cream and sugar, comfort food from our childhood:

What food reminds your about childhood?  I miss my grandmother’s home-made farmer cheese, creamy potato soup and all the baked goods, also my mother’s casseroles, mini pizzas, cakes and stuffed bell peppers!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:13:35

    That looks so good! I think I’m going to make that this week.
    Kraft Mac & Cheese reminds me of my childhood because I used to eat that at my best friend’s house all the time. Also oatmeal cookies remind me of my grandma.

    Reply

  2. Lori (Finding Radiance)
    May 16, 2010 @ 23:56:51

    Those grapes look soo good!

    Hamburger Helper always makes me think of childhood. We always had it. I don’t eat it now, but whenever I see commercials for it, it reminds me. :D

    Reply

  3. Beth
    May 17, 2010 @ 01:26:39

    Ohh that looks AWESOME! I love one pot meals! And I love that you can customize it to please everyone.. like adding meat for my carnivore of a boyfriend! :)

    Reply

    • Katalina
      May 17, 2010 @ 01:49:51

      Yes, this is the beauty of the recipe, no dish to wash, one pot and it can be customized for carnivores and for vegetarian/vegans in seconds!!! :)

      Reply

  4. Erica
    May 17, 2010 @ 02:55:38

    That looks like one jammin dish! Yummmm. There is something about lots of veggies and tomato sauce that is just so good. Strawberries+sour cream?? I have never had this- must give it a go. Hope you have a nice night

    Reply

    • Katalina
      May 17, 2010 @ 03:45:24

      Yes! Strawberries and sour cream! I am from former Soviet Union, so when i was a kid we had no idea what yogurt is, and my granparents were making me strawberries+home made sour crea+sugar!! Heaven!!! it is soooo good!!! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

